Random Thoughts, Random News – Lohan, John Carter, Tonto, Oh My!

The first runaway hit of the year?

It’s been a little while since I’ve posted last so I thought I’d get back into the swing of things with a smattering of news and notes from around the web.  I’m finally starting to get over what has been a weeks long battle with my sinuses so let’s hope for some great blogs in the days/weeks to come. Let’s get started shall we?

Moi? Rehab? Don't make me laugh.

Lindsey Lohan apparently wants to be in the next Muppets movie. I can’t blame her. Who doesn’t? Plus, she has a career to resurrect and The Muppets would be a great way to get a huge push.  Disney’s certainly not going to touch her with a ten foot pole unless she stays on the straight and narrow for an extended period of time so I wouldn’t hold my breath on her inclusion in the next film.  Also, there’s the sticking point of her “great idea” for her cameo in the movie in which she would meet Miss Piggy in rehab. Yes Lindsey, Disney is going to take one of the most recognizable and beloved characters of all time from its newly energized franchise and put her in REHAB. Oh Lindsey, you have so much learning to do.

Please tell me there's someone in this theater...

John Carter opens today.  I find myself surprisingly nervous about it.  I think this is mostly because I love Andrew Stanton’s work so much and I don’t want to see him go down as the man who directed one of the biggest flops of all time.  I have heard wildly disparate things about the film ranging from the great to the dreadful.  It’s currently sitting at a rotten 46% on rottentomatoes.com. I have no idea how it will do this weekend but I hope it holds its own.

You're really going to tell me this doesn't look awesome?!

If you’re a fan over on the High and Lo Facebook page then you saw the above picture which I posted yesterday of Johnny Depp and Armie Hammer as Tonto and the Lone Ranger respectively. Again, I’m hearing wildly disparate things.  Some people saw Depp and seemed to be completely turned off, while others, myself included, saw it and were floored by it.  I think Depp and Hammer both look great in their roles.  The film is being directed by Gore Verbinski fresh off his Oscar win for directing the animated film Rango and I have to say, I get a little bit of a real life Rango vibe off this picture so I’m hoping that The Lone Ranger will go a little dark and strange.

Bella? I think she's lying in the dirt over there crying. I've got dinner to catch.

Blockbuster season seems to be upon or nearly upon us.  The Lorax had a $70million opening last weekend, John Carter for better or worse opens today and in two weeks we see the release of The Hunger Games. I have to say I really wish that The Hunger Games and Twlight would stop being mentioned in the same sentence.  Yes they’re both young adult novels with female protagonists and two male love interests but that’s about where the similarities end.  The Hunger Games is not about love it’s about survival. It’s about a strong, independent female character that makes her own decisions for better or worse and does whatever she has to to survive, not a female character that lies in the forest and basically waits for death because her boyfriend left. The comparisons really tick me off. Having read both series it may be time for me to write an editorial about it.  So look out for that.

Whimsy thy name is Wes Anderson

Wes Anderson’s forthcoming Moonrise Kingdom is set to open the Cannes Film Festival.  History of the opening slot says it’ll either go over with a standing ovation or boos. Let’s hope for the former. I unabashedly love Wes Anderson. In fact, I think it’s about time to revisit The Life Acquatic.

Scott and Writer/Director Westfeldt

Last but not least I was a little surprised to see Friends with Kids at 66% on Rotten Tomatoes.  It’s still considered “fresh” but it’s flirting with a “rotten” rating. Now of course these things ultimately don’t matter.  You could end up loving a film with a 10% rating and hating a film with a 95% rating.  It’s all very subjective.  However, I am surprised because to me this film seemed like a slam dunk on paper.  Directed and starring Jennifer Westfeldt it also stars Adam Scott of Party Down and Parks and Recreation fame, John Hamm, Kristen Wiig, Maya Rudolph, Chris O’Dowd who became more familiar to American audiences in Bridesmaids, and Megan Fox. And yet I see one of my favorite critics, Michael Phillips of the Chicago Tribune saying it’s “a smooth but frustrating third feature with an extremely good ensemble cast”.  Tasha Robinson of the AV Club says, “Westfeldt has a tendency to go over the top, and Friends with Kids in particular has a shrill, smug edge that kills the comedy and the drama alike”. I feel like this film has been under promoted.  In fact, when I went on my Flixter app this morning it wasn’t even listed among the films opening this weekend.  I’ll be interested to see how this film does this weekend.

Welcome back indeed!

Also just a quick note to Mad Men fans we are about 15 days away from the season premiere! That means you only have 2 weeks left to catch up with the first four seasons on Netflix Instant! Get on that!

Leave a Reply

